Go contents Go main menu Go left menu

Establishment of International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in 1956
Atomic Energy Division was newly established in March 1956, under the Department of Technology Education, Ministry of Education & Human Resources Development.
Atomic Energy Institute was officially established in January 1959.
The first research reactor TRIGA Mark-Ⅱ was operated in December 1963.
Oil crisis in the 1970s highlighted the importance of nuclear energy leading to new build of Kori 1 which had started its construction in 1971.
The Three Mile Island accident in 1979.
The Korean nuclear power industry went through remarkable development throughout the 1980s, playing a crucial role in power supply and laying the groundwork for technological self-reliance in nuclear power generation and nuclear power plant safety.
Chernobyl accident in 1986
Nuclear power industry was faced with new challenges due to the Chernobyl accident in 1986 and democratization, followed by anti-nuclear movement.
Korea has developed Korean Standard Nuclear Power plant (OPR1000) and pursued technological self-reliance.
Acquired technology was improved to be suitable to Korea and adopted in KSNP construction.
With the ratification of the Kyoto Protocol (May 16, 2005) as part of an effort to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, the "renaissance" of the global nuclear power industry was anticipated.
New Light Water Reactor with an installed capacity of 1,400MW (APR1400) has been constructed in Korea and exported to UAE in Dec. 2009
Comprehensive safety review was conducted in the wake of Fukushima nuclear accident that occurred on May 11, 2011 and Korea still stands firmly in support of its nuclear policy.
The first APR1400 NPP in UAE Braka site is planned to be completed in 2017.